The Austrian National Tourist Office uses cookies according to its privacy policy. The collected data is used to optimize the company’s websites. However, you can refuse using cookies at all times, by simply adapting your settings.

Vorarlberg - A Portrait

Inspiring, vibrant and open to the world: that is the feel of life in Vorarlberg. Supremely located in Austria’s very west, between Lake Constance and the high alps at up to 3,000 metres, Vorarlberg shares borders with Germany, Switzerland and the principality of Liechtenstein.

“Ever so beautiful“. That is how Vorarlberg has been described by its 383,000 inhabitants and visitors alike. The quality of living and the recreational amenities are superb: Vorarlberg boasts great scenic diversity within a relatively small area. From the beautifully landscaped shores of Lake Constance it is just an hour’s drive to the towering mountain peaks. Along the way, verdant meadows, forests and lovely mountain vistas catch the eye. Many sites around the international Lake Constance in Germany and in Switzerland are simply waiting to be discovered. From the Vorarlberg capital of Bregenz, vessels and cruise boats head for the major destinations.

Eye-catching architecture

Vorarlberg owes its beauty largely to its building culture. In the towns and villages, the blend of traditional and modern architecture is simply striking. Timber has been favoured as a building material since bygone times and used as cladding for old as well as many new buildings. Glass, concrete and uncluttered lines span a bridge to contemporary design. Vorarlberg’s architects possess a genuine mastery when it comes to fitting new buildings into existing surroundings. Vorarlberg is also a trailblazer of sustainable construction and a sparing use of natural resources.

Artisanry is a happy marriage of ancient craftsmanship and modern design. In many hotels and restaurants, timber furniture, wool and loden fabrics, and stone or leather-designed objects, all regionally manufactured, create a most pleasant ambience.

Enchanting music

All year round, you can listen to music of all styles being played in Vorarlberg. Each summer, the floating stage on Lake Constance forms the spectacular backdrop for great opera performed open air at the Bregenz Festival, the largest of its kind. The star-studded concerts at the Schubertiade festival pay tribute to the music of Franz Schubert and his contemporaries. Large and small stages all over the country host jazz, pop and modern folk music events.

Delightful hospitality

Whether you are staying at a hotel, guesthouse or holiday apartment: attentive hosts create a cosy feel of home. Most businesses are family-run, often for many generations. In the inns and restaurants, the chefs expertly treat their guests to fresh seasonal fare. Cheese, mainly the spicy mountain cheese, is Vorarlberg’s best-known speciality. At dairy farms you can take a hands-on look at how milk is made into cheese.

Spoilt for choice

Visitors keen on physical activity are spoilt for choice, all year round. There are myriads of hiking trails in wonderful natural scenery that take you to panoramic lookouts. If you are in a more leisurely vein, you can always take a cable-car up to a summit. Cyclists and mountain bikers will find plenty of opportunities to explore the valleys and the mountains. And in winter, skiers happily take to the slopes.

Auf unserer Website werden Cookies gemäß unserer Datenschutzerklärung verwendet. Diese helfen uns dabei die Benutzererfahrung zu optimieren. Sie können jederzeit dem Einsatz von Cookies auf dieser Website in unserer Datenschutzerklärung widersprechen.

Vorarlberg im Porträt

Anregend, beschwingt und weltoffen: So ist das Lebensgefühl in Vorarlberg, im Westen Österreichs. Die Lage? Exzellent. Zwischen dem Bodensee und bis zu 3.000 Meter hohen Bergen. In Nachbarschaft zu Deutschland, der Schweiz und Liechtenstein.

„Schön schaut Vorarlberg aus“, das finden die 383.000 Bewohner des Landes ebenso wie Besucher. Die Lebens- und Freizeitqualität ist hoch: Auf relativ kleinem Raum vereint Vorarlberg erstaunlich vielfältige Landschaften. Nur eine gute Stunde Autofahrt liegt zwischen dem Bodensee mit seiner hübsch gestalteten Uferlandschaft und den imposanten Bergen. Am Weg erfreuen saftige Wiesen, Wälder und die Bergkulisse. Viel zu entdecken gibt es zudem rund um den internationalen Bodensee, in Deutschland und der Schweiz. Von Bregenz, der Hauptstadt Vorarlbergs, steuern Schiffe die wichtigsten Ziele an.

Architektur überrascht

Die Vorarlberger Baukultur trägt in hohem Maße zum schönen Aussehen bei. Ob Stadt oder Dorf: Vielerorts überrascht das Miteinander von traditioneller und moderner Architektur. Der seit jeher bevorzugte Baustoff Holz  kleidet alte wie viele neue Häuser. Glas, Beton und klare Linien bilden die gestalterische Brücke zur Gegenwart. Die Vorarlberger Architekten sind wahre Meister darin, Bauten stimmig in die Umgebung einzufügen. Als Vorbild gilt Vorarlberg auch, wenn es ums nachhaltige, ressourcenschonende Bauen geht.

Traditionelle Handwerkstechniken werden mit modernem Design verbunden. In vielen Hotels und Restaurants sorgen Holzmöbel, Woll- und Lodenstoffe, aus Stein oder Leder Gefertigtes – allesamt aus regionaler Erzeugung, für ein überaus angenehmes Wohnklima.

Musik erklingt

Musik aller Stilrichtungen erklingt in Vorarlberg rund ums Jahr. Die Bregenzer Festspiele, das größte Festival, spielen jeden Sommer große Oper in spektakulärer Freiluft-Szenerie auf der Bühne im Bodensee. Der Musik von Franz Schubert und seinen Zeitgenossen widmet sich die Schubertiade mit hochkarätigen Konzerten. Jazz, Pop und moderne Volksmusik präsentieren die großen und kleinen Bühnen des Landes.

Gastlichkeit erfreut

Ob Hotel, Pension oder Ferienwohnung: Für ein stimmiges Wohnambiente sorgen aufmerksame Gastgeber. Die meisten Betriebe werden von Familien geführt, oft schon seit Generationen. In den Wirtshäusern und Restaurants verstehen sich die Köche bestens darauf, ihre Gäste mit frischen und saisonalen Köstlichkeiten zu verwöhnen. Käse, vor allem der würzige Bergkäse, ist die bekannteste Spezialität des Landes. In Schausennerein kann man miterleben, wie aus Milch Käse entsteht.

Abwechslung belebt

Bewegungsfreudige können sich das ganze Jahr hindurch auf unterschiedliche Wege machen. Tausend kilometerlange Wanderwege führen durch eindrucksvolle Landschaften und zu Aussichtsplätzen. Wer es lieber gemütlich anlegt, fährt per Seilbahn auf die Gipfel. Radfahrer und Mountainbiker erkunden die Ebenen und Berge. Im Winter schwingen Skifahrer über die Hänge.

 

 

Weitere Informationen: www.vorarlberg.travel